Tuleap Community Edition development and releases are no longer public. You have until September 30th to download packages and sources in Tuleap project. You can contact the team if you need further assistance.

  •  
     
    story #7495 set permissions on artifact priority change
Summary
tracker user
set permissions on artifact priority change
I get a better control of who is allowed to raise/decrease priorities in my backlog

General approach

This story is meant to address the following needs:

  • One or several Product Owners of "Upper backlog" are allowed to change priorities at higher level
  • At "lower level" (for instance, sprint backlog), developers are allowed to change priorities but this should be limited to the scope of the sprint
  • The change at sprint level do have an impact at release or product level (if Story A is moved before Story B in a sprint, it will also be the case at Product level) but the changes are limited to the stories that are part of the sprint

Acceptance criteria:

  • Permissions are managed at Planning level
    • Each planning (Product, Release, Sprint, ...) has a group of people allowed to change priorities
    • By default, project members are allowed
    • The permission is exported/imported with XML template
    • The permission is inherited on project clone
  • Permissions are applied on cascade according to hierarchy. Example:
    • "product_owners" group has "priority change" permission on Release backlog
    • "scrum_masters" group has "priority change" permission on Sprint backlog
    • Release is parent of Sprint
    • Then, "product_owners" can change priorities in both Release and Sprint backlogs
    • But "scrum_masters" can only change priorities in Sprint backlog
  • The permission that apply on first planning (example Product planning when you have Products -> Releases -> Sprints) also apply on Project backlog (aka. Top Backlog)

Edge cases:

  • When dashboard is configured to manage 2 kind of children, like:
    • Product (backlog types: story, note)
      • Release (backlog type: story)
      • Info (backlog type: note)
    • With 3 plannings:
      • Product planning: manage "story" and "note" in "Product"
      • Release planning: manage "story" in "Release"
      • Info planning: manage "note" in "Info"
  • Then, permissions on both Release planning and Info planning are required to rank stories or notes in Product backlog
Empty
thomas.m.muller@ericsson.com, Patricia Carrasco (pcar), Emilio Palmiero (empa)
Status
Empty
Done
Development
  • [ ] Does it involves User Interface? 
  • [ ] Are there any mockups?
  • [x] Are permissions checked?
  • [ ] Does it need Javascript development?
  • [ ] Does it need a forge upgrade bucket?
  • [ ] Does it need to execute things in system events?
  • [ ] Does it impact project creation (templates)?
  • [ ] Is it exploratory?
Empty
Details
#7495
Manuel Vacelet (vaceletm)
2015-02-24 16:22
2014-09-30 18:09
4722

References

Follow-ups

User avatar

The pending questions are on the connection between priority raise/decrease permission and items planning (drag from backlog and drop into a milestone):

  • Given the permissions described in acceptance criteria, "product_owners" should be allowed to plan any items at any level (Product, Release, Sprint). The should also be able to unplan (ie. move an item from milestone back to backlog)
  • But what about "scrum_masters" ?
    • Is it acceptable to not let them pick items from Release planning into Sprint planning (only Product owner would be allowed to do that) ?
    • Or do we want them to be able to pick items from Release planning but without having the right to change priorities in Release backlog ?

  • CC list set to thomas.m.muller@ericsson.com, Patricia Carrasco (pcar), Emilio Palmiero (empa)
User avatar
  • So that
    Something went wrong, the follow up content couldn't be loaded
    Only formatting have been changed, you should switch to markup to see the changes
  • Acceptance criteria
    Something went wrong, the follow up content couldn't be loaded
    Only formatting have been changed, you should switch to markup to see the changes