•  
     
    story #7495 - set permissions on artifact priority change
Summary
tracker user
set permissions on artifact priority change
I get a better control of who is allowed to raise/decrease priorities in my backlog

General approach

This story is meant to address the following needs:

  • One or several Product Owners of "Upper backlog" are allowed to change priorities at higher level
  • At "lower level" (for instance, sprint backlog), developers are allowed to change priorities but this should be limited to the scope of the sprint
  • The change at sprint level do have an impact at release or product level (if Story A is moved before Story B in a sprint, it will also be the case at Product level) but the changes are limited to the stories that are part of the sprint

Acceptance criteria:

  • Permissions are managed at Planning level
    • Each planning (Product, Release, Sprint, ...) has a group of people allowed to change priorities
    • By default, project members are allowed
    • The permission is exported/imported with XML template
    • The permission is inherited on project clone
  • Permissions are applied on cascade according to hierarchy. Example:
    • "product_owners" group has "priority change" permission on Release backlog
    • "scrum_masters" group has "priority change" permission on Sprint backlog
    • Release is parent of Sprint
    • Then, "product_owners" can change priorities in both Release and Sprint backlogs
    • But "scrum_masters" can only change priorities in Sprint backlog
  • The permission that apply on first planning (example Product planning when you have Products -> Releases -> Sprints) also apply on Project backlog (aka. Top Backlog)

Edge cases:

  • When dashboard is configured to manage 2 kind of children, like:
    • Product (backlog types: story, note)
      • Release (backlog type: story)
      • Info (backlog type: note)
    • With 3 plannings:
      • Product planning: manage "story" and "note" in "Product"
      • Release planning: manage "story" in "Release"
      • Info planning: manage "note" in "Info"
  • Then, permissions on both Release planning and Info planning are required to rank stories or notes in Product backlog
Empty
thomas.m.muller@ericsson.com, Patricia Carrasco (pcar), Emilio Palmiero (empa)
Status
Done
Development
Are permissions checked?
Empty
Details
#7495
Manuel Vacelet (vaceletm)
2015-02-24 16:22
2014-09-30 18:09
3515

References

List of items referenced by or referencing this item.

Git commit

Artifact Tracker v5

Follow-ups

  • User avatar
    • Status changed from On going to Done
  • User avatar
    • Status changed from To be done to On going
  • User avatar

    The pending questions are on the connection between priority raise/decrease permission and items planning (drag from backlog and drop into a milestone):

    • Given the permissions described in acceptance criteria, "product_owners" should be allowed to plan any items at any level (Product, Release, Sprint). The should also be able to unplan (ie. move an item from milestone back to backlog)
    • But what about "scrum_masters" ?
      • Is it acceptable to not let them pick items from Release planning into Sprint planning (only Product owner would be allowed to do that) ?
      • Or do we want them to be able to pick items from Release planning but without having the right to change priorities in Release backlog ?

    • CC list set to thomas.m.muller@ericsson.com, Patricia Carrasco (pcar), Emilio Palmiero (empa)
  • User avatar
    • So that
    • Acceptance criteria